The Scholarship From Hell

scholarshipfromhellThe Scholarship From Hell is the only scholarship offered by HWA that puts the recipient right into an intensive, hands-on workshop environment (called Horror University). Horror University will take place at HWA’s first annual StokerCon in Las Vegas, and the winner of the Scholarship From Hell will receive domestic coach airfare (contiguous 48 states) to-and-from Las Vegas, a 4-night stay at the Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, plus free registration to StokerCon2016, and as many workshops as you’d like to attend! Be sure to follow us on Facebook or Twitter so you don’t miss out!Instructors will include:

  • Bestselling author of the Joe Ledger series Jonathan Maberry
  • Lifetime Achievement Award winner Jack Ketchum
  • Best New Horror editor and genre legend Stephen Jones
  • One of the U.K.’s most famous authors, editors, and publishers, Jo Fletcher
  • Major genre agent Ian Drury
  • Legendary author, editor, and filmmaker John Skipp
  • New York Times bestselling author Nancy Holder
  • World-renowned author of the Cedar Hill series Gary A. Braunbeck
  • Multiple Bram Stoker Award winner Lucy Snyder
  • Army of Darkness co-star Richard Grove
  • Bram Stoker Award and International Horror Guild Award winner Michael A. Arnzen
  • Famed poet and author Linda Addison
  • Shirley Jackson Award finalist and novelist Tim Waggoner
  • Multiple Bram Stoker Award nominee Patrick Freivald
  • Bram Stoker Award winning editor and novelist Michael Knost
  • Wolf Creek 2 screenwriter Aaron Sterns
  • Highly praised newer voice Nicole Cushing
  • Acclaimed poet, editor, and novelist Stephanie M. Wytovich

For a complete list of the workshops and instructors, please visit the Horror University page at .

Rules for The Scholarship From Hell

  1. Authority — The Scholarship From Hell has been established by the authority of the Horror Writers Association Board.
  2. Membership in HWA or StokerCon is not necessary in order to apply.
  3. The application period each year shall be determined by the Scholarship Committees.
  4. Scholarships will be awarded as the result of the competitive vetting process described below (see Rules 8 and 9).
  5. The Chairs of the yearly StokerCon will act at the sub-committee that selects the winner of The Scholarship From Hell The sub-committee has the discretion not to announce a winner if it feels no applicant is up to the required standard. The sub-committee may not allocate joint winners of the Scholarship. They may not give The Scholarship From Hell to anyone who has won another HWA-funded Scholarship in the same year. They may not give the Scholarship to a writer who has previously won any of HWA’s Scholarships.
  6. The announcement of any winners will occur on a date determined by the Committee each year.
  7. Applicants must fill in and submit the Application Form designed for that purpose; the Application Form must be published at but may be also be made available in any other way the HWA sees fit.
  8. The Application Form must include a section in which the Applicant supplies a brief essay (of no more than 250 words) in which the Applicant describes what sort of educational opportunities they hope the Scholarship will provide for them, including what they hope to gain from attending StokerCon, what workshops they will find most useful, and how they hope the award will advance their writing career.
  9. The sub-committee should rely primarily on the applicant’s essay as described in Rule 8 when making their selection, but may also consider the following matters:
    1. The quality and potential shown in each applicants’ written work to date (including any examples the sub-committee may seek out);
    2. The likelihood that the applicant’s career would benefit from further writing education (in respect of this the sub-committee will consider writers with any experience, background or body of work — from aspiring unpublished writers through to those who already have an extensive publishing record — the key here is the likelihood of the applicant benefitting from further writing education);
    3. The likelihood that the applicant is committed to the horror genre;
    4. The likelihood that the applicant will contribute to the development of the genre, including increasing and/or broadening our readership;
    5. The financial need of the applicant; and
    6. The broad interests of the HWA and the horror genre.
  10. The winner of The Scholarship From Hell will receive round-trip economy airfare (within the U.S. or Canada) for one to the city hosting StokerCon; hotel accommodations for the length of StokerCon; a StokerCon membership; and access to all workshops of the winner’s choosing. The winner will work with HWA’s Administrator to make all arrangements (the winner may either request reimbursement if they choose to make their own arrangements, or may ask the Administrator to make all arrangements on their behalf).
  11. The Scholarship From Hell must be used in the same year it is awarded. It may not be used for a StokerCon event that will take place beyond the year it is awarded.
  12. The Scholarship From Hell will be made available annually but the HWA Board has the right to suspend the Scholarship program in any given year for the sole reason of limited finances; or to abolish the Scholarship altogether. Notice of such suspension or abolition must be given no later than 31 October each year.
  13. Scholarship recipients agree to provide bios and photographs to HWA for use in promoting the Scholarships; and recipients will also agree to reasonable requests for interviews regarding the educational experiences provided by the scholarship.

To apply for The Scholarship From Hell, please click here.

The Scholarship From Hell is made by possible by monies received by HWA from the Authors Coalition.

For more information on other horror writing scholarships, please click here.

Time to get those fingers fired up!

Flaming Typewriter
Image by Mary Olyna